I’ve Started a Habit of Being Factful, and It Served Me Well!

Abidul Ramadan
2 min readJul 5, 2021
Photo by Milad B. Fakurian on Unsplash

So, I’ve started reading this book called Factfullness (by Hans Rosling). Through reading a couple of chapters I’ve encountered much useful information. But, I only want to talk about a couple of points that I’ve found super useful in the book and I was able to use them as action points in my lifestyle right away.

Generalization

A quick example first to explain the idea faster:
The author was talking about a trip he did with his students to a country in Africa which wasn’t poor but not rich as well. While he was walking with his students on the trip they walked into an elevator and one of the students was late and was running to catch up before the elevator door closed so her classmate put her hand to guard the door against closing, next thing she knows that the door doesn’t care and keeps closing on her hand till a point she was about to lose her hand because the elevator started going down. Luckily, the situation was handled by her group, they pulled her back and gently took out her arm. But, if it wasn’t for them she’d be armless now just because she thought it’s normal to guard an elevator door like that.

Explaining

As you can see in the example above the student generalized an idea she had from her tier of community…

--

--

Abidul Ramadan

I write about my experiences whether it was tech or about solutions and hacks of life. https://www.buymeacoffee.com/abidulrmdn